Table 1.

The Nobel Institutions Charged with Selecting the Laureates.

Prize Category Year First Awarded Responsible Institute
Chemistry 1901 Royal Swedish Academy of Science
Physics 1901 Royal Swedish Academy of Science
Physiology or Medicine 1901 Nobel Assembly at the Royal Caroline Institute (Karolinska Institutet)*
Peace 1901 Norwegian Nobel Committee
Literature 1901 The Swedish Academy
The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel** 1969 Royal Swedish Academy of Science
*Composed of 50 professors at the Institute.
**Although not established as a Prize through Nobel’s will and the Nobel Foundation, it has been accepted functionally as “the Nobel Prize in Economics” and is often referred to in that way by the media.
RMMJ Rambam Maimonides Medical Journal Rambam Health Care Campus 2017 July; 8(3): e0035. ISSN: 2076-9172
Published online 2017 July 1. doi: 10.5041/RMMJ.10311